Welcome to the Cinderverse

The somewhat cryptic persona and voice in the other posts is from a world close to, similar, and familiar with our own.  Only about a hundred years in the past.  This post is from myself, Clinton A. Harris, writer, dad, a working schlub most of the time kinda like you.

This is the voice of the author.  I’m here to tell you about the process.  Where the stories come from.  Various meanderings and thoughts that contribute to make the novels I hope you will be enjoying soon.

I see the world in a weird way and I like to tell stories about what I see.  To be honest, a lot of the reason I started writing Song of the Cinder was because there weren’t a lot of books that I could get into.  I was tired of the high fantasy books of farmer boys who became kings and I was frustrated with fantasy tropes where the names contained lots and lots of apostrophes.

For a while, I was writing lots of short stories.  I was even publishing a few of them every now and then.  Nobody gets rich off selling short stories anymore.  That’s a writerly tip. You’ll see those every now and then, interspersed with glimpses into the world my writerly friends and first-readers have nicknamed the Cinderverse.

It’s in the writerly bits that you’ll see how the sausage gets made.  In the other stuff, you might find snippets of chapters, things I have scrapped, standalone stories, or just things that have inspired me here and there.

I liked steampunk because of the imagery.  The juxaposition of low-tech and high.  The Victorian aesthetic which was all about form and status.  Details that we no longer see.  There was a level of craftsmanship in the Victorian world that died out shortly after the rise and fall of Art Deco style.  When people could just have a company in China or Japan stamp out things that were built to fall apart en masse, we lost a lot of cool stuff.

This world isn’t quite steampunk though.  I learned that writing short stories.  Editors got picky about the aesthetic.  They wouldn’t publish stories if one or more elements wasn’t just so.  I guess my stuff is more like dieselpunk.  Or maybe even what they would have called Weird Fiction in the 1930s.  I like blending things.  Magic.  Fairy tales.  Cosmic horror.  Heroic fiction.  High fantasy.  Folklore.

In short, I like writing stories I would love to read.

I hope you enjoy them too.

More will follow.  Here are some links to get your own copy of Song of the Cinder.

A good deal on Createspace.

Or if you prefer Kindle and Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

